Ok, so it’s less than 2 weeks away.  When I think about it my stomach starts churning…

This week we practised walking on and off the stage, that was enough to worry the hell out of me!  I have been practising in the kitchen, in the hall, everywhere I get a moment and I still can’t remember some of the ballroom steps!  This, fortunately for me, is not dementia – just a complete lack of dancing skill.  I can go right through the latin dance on my own now, (everything is easier with GG, he does the leading/pushing in the right direction), so it’s just a matter of technique.  Here’s the problem – anyone who knows me will tell you my feet turn in, but I have to get them to turn out, and at speed and I’m expected to smile as well!

 Just for a moment on Saturday I thought Gorgeous George’s patience was going to crack, a tiny frown across the temples…  I could see ‘one more time’ was wearing a bit thin, but on he went – 2, 3, 4 and 1, 2, 3, 4 and 1.  You’ve got to feel sorry for him.

Image        Looking a bit stern

 

Image      But a bit happier here

 So tomorrow the costumes should be sorted!  I have enlisted the help of Rachel (costume maker extraordinaire).  She should be arriving with a car full of sequins attached to some tiny bits of material.  It’s ok, it’s such a big theatre the wrinkles will be difficult to spot.  Apparently you can’t have too many sequins.  I’ll try them on and if there are too many bulges I’ll wear the Bridget Jones pair I’ve got hidden away at the back of the drawer.  I do mean to stick to the diet, but it’s all so stressful I keep resorting to wine and chocolate (yes, in that order).

 Last push on the fundraising now, so please dig deep in your pockets and spare a few quid for the wonderful Vale House and, in return, I promise I will try my absolute best not to let GG down.  Of course, if you want to come and see us there are still tickets available! 🙂