….the Oscar speech!

I just want to take this opportunity to thank some people for helping me on my journey to this amazing award, my parents for having me (sob), their genes for giving me this limitless talent….

Ok so I didn’t win, I didn’t actually make the final, but I did get a MEDAL!  Now proudly pinned up on the board in the kitchen.  I did wear false eyelashes and a ton of make up and, of course, my glamorous strictly dresses.

I am sad now I won’t be dreaming of contra checks, or keeping my legs straight and my feet pointed outwards.  I will miss our teacher Gabriel saying ‘one more time’ so very many times and more than anything the hours with calm GG, ever smiling, ever patient, but the journey is done and it’s time to move on.

Here’s a thing, when I was young I watched ‘Dirty Dancing’ and had such a dream that one day I would be on the stage to ‘I had the time of my life’. Well I’ve achieved that – I did have the time of my life – and instead of not very gorgeous Patrick Swayze, I danced with the Greek God GG!!

So here’s the real speech – there are so many people I do want to thank:

 My fellow celebs, for just being lovely

My generous sponsors – up to £578 now!

Therese, my agent and PA extraordinaire

Kate, marketing and PR

All of the brilliant and talented Denman staff for being so supportive

Rachel, the best costume designer in the business

Hannah and her team for make up and hair

Nacho for touching up the photos 🙂

Jen, daughter No. 1 for endless encouragement (you can do it Mum!)

Amy, daughter No. 2 for saying ‘Aw Mum’, every time I talked about it

Chris, son, for never phoning so I could get on with practising

John, for putting up with endless diva behaviour…

 

And of course

Generous, gracious, gorgeous George.  I struck so lucky being partnered with him!

 But most of all for the staff of Vale House, who work every day as hard as they do, to care for their residents.

 

Am I going to keep dancing?  Absolutely – this is just the beginning!  But sadly the end of my blog.

If you enjoyed the blog or just think there should be many Vale Houses all over the world, why not dig deep in your pocket one more time and spare a little more – http://www.justgiving.com/Jane-Dixon6

 Now here’s some pics!

Image Maybe GG is nervous before our tango?

Image But a bit happier now!

Image Ready for our salsa freestyle

 Image And with Nacho (aka Ken) at the after show party!

 

Thank you all for reading and giving – oh and keeeep dancing!

Strictly Jane